Dude, Harsh…



Graham Coxon, the guitar player for Blur and a fellow fan of this woman, recently revealed how he felt during the Blur/Oasis “battle” of the 90’s.

Graham Coxon has spoken about the fallout from Blur Britpop tussle with Oasis.

The guitarist says he felt so bad when ‘Country House’ beat ‘Roll With It’ to Number One in the UK singles chart in the summer of 1995 that he had to be talked out of jumping from a sixth floor window by Damon Albarn.

“It felt like a hollow, pointless victory to me,” Coxon told the Daily Mail. “Our record company threw a big champagne party at Soho House in London. I felt I was being forced into enjoying the moment and I just wanted to be alone really.

“I couldn’t handle being part of that crowd so I tried to jump out of a sixth-storey window. It was Damon (Albarn) who talked me out of it. Looking back, I should have enjoyed myself a lot more than I did during the Blur days”.

Maybe it was because the “rivalry” was pretty much cooked up by the media? Coxon goes on to say that he once stole sausage from a butcher in the late 90’s “The butcher saw me and gave chase. He finally caught up with me outside Woolworths and gave me a very firm punch in the jaw. I suppose I was asking for it but I didn’t care at the time. I wouldn’t have cared if he had hacked my arm off with a chicken’s beak. Also, I happened to be wearing a denim skirt and there was a bus-load of people watching. It wasn’t my proudest moment.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

